Kat Herbert

Kat-Herbert_Staff_Youth-Adviser
Job Title:
Youth Adviser

Staff

Career overview:

After graduating University I started working in Children’s Centres, firstly as an admin but then got more involved in play work and family support work. This involved things like parenting course, play sessions, one to one support and providing an information, advice, and guidance (IAG) and signposting service.

I gained a number of CPD qualifications, for example I am PEEP (Peer, Early Education Partnership) Trained and have also completed the Freedom Program Facilitators Course.

Since moving to It’s Your Choice I have completed further CPD course which have benefited my work including, Managing People With Complex Needs, Implementing the Capacity Act, and a number of short courses on Mental Health, SRE and Substance Misuse.

What do you do at IYC?

I am a Youth Adviser at It’s Your Choice.

My job involves supporting, advocating for and advising young people to achieve the best possible outcome for whatever it is they need help with.

I have a particular interest in housing and also in the Criminal Justice System and am able to offer support and IAG in these areas when needed.

I also run the Trustee Advisory Board which brings together young people who are or have accessed the service to help shape the future of the charity from a young person’s perspective, provide feedback on current services and to get involved with things like fund raising and peer mentoring.

What attracted you to working at IYC?

I have always wanted to work with people; I am not someone who would work well behind a desk or in retail. I find that I learn as much from the young people as they (hopefully) do from me.

I am hugely passionate about the work that I do with young people and hope that I provide a non-judgemental service, based around unconditional positive regard, which allows someone to be able to come to me about anything.

What do you do outside of work?

In my spare time I like to take an active role in the local community and am particularly interested in local politics. I enjoy socialising with friends and getting out and about in the New Forest.

I also enjoy like studying in my own time and am currently undertaking a short course in Child Psychology and am working towards undertaking another degree in Criminology.